Books Read 10-16 May 2024 || Book Reviews

Hello!

I completely skipped a week of reading in May and I don’t remember why. Nonetheless, the second week of May I did get to reading, maybe not as much as I’d hoped but I did read a few lengthy books so it could’ve been that.

Attention: this post contains a hyped up book! And I didn’t love it! Go and check out why.

Remember to check out the question at the end and leave a comment.

Disclaimer: All posts/reviews are based on my personal views and opinions.

The Time Traveler’s Wife by audrey niffenegger

Published: 2003 | Source: My Bookshelf | Genre: Romance, Science Fiction | Pages: 522
Rating: 4/5

This was an interesting book with a unique premise. I loved exploring the time-traveling scenes, and I often felt sorry for Henry and his confusing world that he had no control over. Never knowing when something would change must have been terrifying. He was a flawed character, which I found realistic, unlike the usual perfect male protagonist that everyone falls for from the beginning. Claire, on the other hand, wasn’t a great character. Oftentimes, her character felt flat. I also found the title a little misleading since there weren’t as many scenes with her as I would have expected. There seemed to be a lot more focus on sex between the two characters than on exploring deeper connections. The connection was there, but it didn’t seem like the main focus. There was way too much detail for things and scenes that didn’t need that much detail, and it added to reading about a bunch of things that brought nothing to the plot. Otherwise, it was interesting—not great—but I’m glad I’ve marked this book off my list.

Prompt: May Free to Choose books, Debut books


Mouse’s Secret Club #1-8 by p. j. ryan

Published: 2014 | Source: Digital Library | Genre: Mystery, Adventure | Pages: 258
Rating: 4/5

I’ve read a couple of books by P. J. Ryan and I’ve enjoyed the majority of them. This series focuses on Mouse, a character I’m familiar with from other series, and his secret club. Some of the books were sweet and funny, some were just good to pass some time. I loved seeing some of the other characters I know from other series that I liked reading about.


Unf*ck Your Intimacy: Using Science for Better Relationships, Sex, and Dating by faith g. harper

Published: 2019 | Source: Audible | Genre: Self-Care | Hours: 6h25m
Rating: 5/5

I’ve listened to many of Faith’s books on Audible and I’ve found each of them informative. This one was no different. This was an interesting topic, one that many people still find taboo talking about yet it’s so important! If you don’t understand intimacy and the importance of it, you’re not likely to have a fulfilling relationship. For some, that might be okay and that’s okay. Personally I believe it to be a key component in a relationship and this audiobook provided insightful information about importance and how to achieve it.


I’m Not Your Paper Princess: Poems by j. r. rogue

Published: 2019 | Source: Digital Library | Genre: Poetry | Pages: 73
Rating: 3/5

This was an average collection for me. Some of the pieces felt too short to create an impact or a lasting effect of emotions. While the pieces were honest, I didn’t find that the honesty truly brought up any emotional responses. I would’ve like longer pieces exploring the themes and getting into the folds of the words and losing myself in them.


The Boys: Good for the Soul by garth ennis

Published: 2008 | Source: Digital Library | Genre: Graphic Novel | Pages: 192
Series: The Boys (Book 3) | Rating: 5/5

The graphic novel picked up on the cliffhanger of the previous one and I devoured this one as I had with the first two. Again, this is not for readers who are easily offended and trigger by a lot of bad language and violence, graphic violence, and if that’s not your scene, then give this a skip. If you like a brutal storyline with a huge cast of morally grey characters, this is one for you!


A Court of Thorns and Roses by sarah j. maas

Published: 2015 | Source: Digital Library | Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult | Pages: 433
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses (Book 1) | Rating: 3/5

This was one of the overhyped books I was looking forward to reading because I wouldn’t go a day without seeing someone talking about it online, and now that I’m done, I’m struggling to understand where the hype stemmed from. Firstly, I was excited that this was a Beauty and the Beast retelling, and from the few I’ve seen online, this was the only one that really stood enough to pick. The pace itself was disappointing, the story just dragged out and only really picked up towards the end when I started getting answers and most of the mysteries faded away. That was disappointing because I felt myself being dragged along for a couple of chapters at the end to give me the punch I was expecting at least from the third chapter. The punishment made absolutely no sense to me, even when the reasoning was revealed. It felt like the author didn’t really attempt to change that detail from the inspiration she drew and that made it feel monotone. The characters were okay, the main group just didn’t feel like anything special and I rolled my eyes a couple of times about the love interest and all the reasons revealed behind it. I enjoyed the world-building the most in this book and that resulted in giving a higher rating that I originally wanted to give. Needless to say, if this is what is to come in the rest of the books in the series, I’m not to keep on continuing.

Prompt: May Free to Choose books


sisters by Raina Telgemeier

Published: 2014 | Source: Digital Library | Genre: Graphic Novel | Pages: 208
Series: Smile (Book 2) | Rating: 5/5

This is the second graphic novel I read by Raina Telgemeier and I enjoyed it almost as much as the first one. Almost because I was disappointed to see that she left out of the story the events from the previous book which would’ve fused perfectly with the sibling rivalry portrayed in this one. It would’ve added that extra punch to the feud and driven it home. It was filled with humour and sad bits that I loved reading about.


buried deep by margot hunt

Published: 2019 | Source: Audible | Genre: Mystery | Hours: 2h38m
Rating: 3/5

Did I love this audiobook? No. Did I hate it? Almost no. I’ve listened to two other books by Margot Hunt and with each one, my ratings have lowered-this one being the lowest one yet. It had a dark plot, which I don’t usually have an issue with, but this one just didn’t sit well with me. It was easy to pin-point the bad guys towards the end of the book, and even though I was spot on, the ending didn’t leave me feeling any lighter.


In the comments:

How many of these books have you read?

MORE POSTS YOU MIGHT LIKE:

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

Leave a comment